Monday, December 30, 2013

NFL statement regarding Chiefs-Chargers game - NBCSports.com

[Editor's note:  The NFL has issued a statement acknowledging an officiating error at the end of regulation in Sunday's game between the Chiefs and Chargers, during an attempt by the Chiefs to win the game with a field goal.  The Chargers eventually won in overtime.  If the Chiefs had prevailed, the Steelers would have qualified for the playoffs.  The full text of the statement appears below.]

With 0:08 remaining in the fourth quarter of Sunday's game between the Kansas City Chiefs and San Diego Chargers, Kansas City faced a fourth-and-12 from the San Diego 23.  The Chiefs attempted a 41-yard field that was no good.

On the play, San Diego lined up with seven men on one side of the snapper.  This should have been penalized as an illegal formation by the defense.

Rule 9, Section 1, Article 3 (b) (1) of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that "No more than six Team B players may be on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper at the snap."

The penalty for illegal formation by the defense is a loss of five yards.  This is not subject to instant replay review.  Had the penalty been assessed, it would have resulted in a fourth-and-seven from the San Diego 18 with 0:04 remaining, enabling the Chiefs to attempt a 36-yard field goal.

p 89EKCgBk8MZdE

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...